STORY


About Fruits Basket

Fruits Basket (also called Furuba) is a manga by Natsuki Takaya. The first volume of the manga was issued in January 1999. The manga series, which is still ongoing (it is published by Hakusensha Publishing's "Hana to Yume" magazine), has now reached its 17th volume (in France, the manga is published by Editions Delcourt).

Story

Tohru Honda is a very sweet and humble high school student, who recently lost her mother in a tragic car accident. Although she is now forced to live alone in a tent in the woods, she has remained a very optimistic and positive person. What she doesn’t know, though, is that the forest in which she now lives belongs to the powerful and wealthy Soma family. One night, Shigure and Yuki Soma eventually stumble upon her, and offer for her to live together with them, in exchange for taking care of household chores. So Tohru ends up moving with Shigure and Yuki, totally unsuspecting that the Soma family is, in fact, hiding a very dark secret.

Manga popularity

In Japan, Fruits Basket is the most popular series published in Hana to Yume magazine, and is rated amongst the three best shojos. Tohru being the perfect Japanese girl stereotype, she is very popular among Japanese fangirls. The animated series also was a huge success, and was awarded best anime in 2001. In the rest of the world, Fruits Basket is published in six different languages besides Japanese (French, English, Italian, German, Chinese, Korean + an English/Japanese bilingual edition). In French-speaking countries, the manga is ranked among the best 10 selling manga (it is Editions Delcourt’s biggest manga success).

Review

Even though it was classified as a shojo, Fruits Basket may appeal to boys and girls, thanks to its complex plot, its deep characterisation and its special atmosphere. This manga is suited for a very wide public, as it deals with various everyday life themes, such as relationships with other people, teenagers coming on the verge of adulthood, conflicts with parents, tolerance… However this manga will not please readers who enjoy bloody fights. Fruits Basket is more of a subtle, humorous manga with a nice characterisation and a good plot.
 
Suba Furuba © 2003 - 2005 ~ Fruits Basket © N. Takaya/Hakusensha.
This site is not for profit and intends no infrigement. [credits - ]
All the illustrations are property of their respective author and distributor.
FB
author profile
story
characters
timeline
analyses
hana to yume
ANIME
dvd boxset
summaries
screencaps
ost
lyrics
WEBSITE
updates
past updates
events
chat
forums
guestbook
team
FAQ
contact us
link in
link out
webmail
webcam
credits
MANGA
covers
summaries
translations
preview
artbooks
MULTIMEDIA
gallery
avatars
wallpapers
pixel art
tegami
skins
goodies
OMAKE
fanfictions
fanarts
doujinshi
cosplay
games
japan
oekaki
AFFILIATES

HISTOIRE


Fruits Basket, kesako?


Fruits Basket (aussi appelé "furuba") est le dernier manga de Natsuki Takaya, dont le premier tome fut publié en janvier 1999. La série, toujours en cours, en est à son 17ème tome. En France, le manga est publié par les éditions Delcourt/Akata

Début de l'histoire

Tohru, petite lycéenne fort sympathique vient de perdre sa mère dans un accident de voiture. D'un esprit optimiste à toute épreuve, elle décide de s'installer dans une tente, en plein milieu des bois. Mais ce qu'elle ne sait pas, c'est que le terrain où elle se trouve appartient à la grande et puissante famille Soma. Un jour elle est découverte par deux d'entre eux, qui lui proposent d'habiter dans leur maison en échanges des tâches ménagères. Tohru accepte, sans rien connaître de la terrible malédiction qui les touche.

Popularité du manga

Au Japon, le manga se situe dans le top trois des meilleurs shôjos (c'est la série la plus populaire du magazine Hana To Yume). Tohru, correspondant à l'archétype de la Japonaise idéale, a énormément de succès auprés des Nippones.Quand à la série animée, son succès n'est plus à démontrer puisqu'elle a reçu le prix du meilleurs anime japonais en 2001. Dans le reste du monde, Fruits Basket est publié dans 7 langues différentes (français, anglais, italien, allemand, chinois, coréen en plus du japonais), + une édition bilingue anglais-japonais. Dans nos pays, la série se situe également dans le top 10 des ventes et est le plus grand succès manga de Delcourt! ^^

Critique

Bien qu'il soit catalogué comme un shôjo, le manga séduit autant les garçons que les filles par son scénario complexe, son ambiance caractéristique et ses personnages attachants. Ce manga s'adresse à un public très large car il aborde une multitude de sujets de la vie, tant les difficultés du passage à l'âge adulte que les relations avec autrui. Par contre, ce manga ne convient pas à ceux qui cherchent des combats noyés dans des litres d'hémoglobine. Fruits Basket joue la carte de la finesse, de l'humour et d'un scénario fournit et bien ficelé.

Vous avez une question? Référez-vous à la FAQ ou au Forum! ^^

 
 
 
Suba Furuba © 2003 - 2006 ~ Fruits Basket © N. Takaya/Hakusensha.
This site is not for profit and intends no infrigement. [credits - ]
Toutes les illustrations sont propriétés de leur auteur et distributeur respectif.
FB
auteur
histoire
personnages
chronologie
analyses
hana to yume
ANIME
dvd
résumés
captures
ost
lyrics
SITE
news
archives
activités
tchat
forum
guestbook
team
FAQ
contacts
nous lier
liens
webmail
bonus
crédits
LE MANGA
couvertures
résumés
traductions
preview
artbooks
MEDIA
images
avatars
wallpapers
pixels art
tegami
skins
goodies
OMAKE
fanfics
fanarts
doujinshi
cosplay
jeux - tests
japon
tsubasa
AFFILIES